Toothpaste Poisoning

Putting toothpaste on a toothbrush. The toothp...For the past week or so I’ve had a horrible taste in my mouth. It goes away overnight, but it comes back the next morning and stays all day. I remember a few years ago I had a similar thing when I was taking antibiotics, but that was kind of metallic and this is more like… soap. Not only do I have the taste in my mouth all day, but everything I eat tastes like soap.

Until now, I’d put it down to the changes in my dietary regime, although to be honest, while the quantity of food I’m eating has gone down, the quality has improved vastly. Could the bad taste really be due to giving up croissants for breakfast? I haven’t been that bothered about it anyway, because the soapy taste has kind of put me off eating, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing when you’re trying to cut down on your food intake. But something will have to change because I can’t put up with this for the rest of my life.

So I did a bit of research on the wonderweb, and guess what? The most likely cause is an excess intake of sodium fluoride – found in drinking water and toothpaste. Now, while I haven’t been drinking any more tap water recently, I did change my toothpaste a couple of weeks ago. The new one is a brand hitherto unknown to me but which promises a more natural teeth cleaning experience (or some such marketing nonsense). To make matters worse, I’ve been brushing my teeth much more often, thinking that it will help to make the taste go away.

As of today, I’ve stopped using the new stuff and switched back to plain old Colgate. I’ll give it a few days and see if the horrible taste goes away. Let’s see if I really do have toothpaste poisoning!

Leave a Reply

