The Woman in Black

The Woman in Black (1989 film)
I’ve wanted to see The Woman in Black since around about 2005 when two work colleagues independently declared the 1989 film the scariest horror film they’d ever seen. I’ve never been able to track down the 1989 version, but I was straight out to see this one.

I’m not great at horror films. I am the person who screams out loud at the scary bits. It doesn’t matter so much when you’re at home (although Chewy gets a bit irritated), but it’s pretty embarrassing when you’re in a cinema. So last night I took my scarf with me, stuffed one end in my mouth and used the other end to cover my eyes.

There’s not much to tell you about the plot. It’s the usual man-spends-a-night-alone-in-a-haunted-house scenario. Things go bump in the night and the dead rise. It’s beautifully shot and lovely to look. The supporting cast – especially the Woman herself – carry the day as star Daniel Radcliffe  gets a bit repetitive after a while. BTW he didn’t play Frodo in the Lord of the Rings but it looks like he’s been to the same acting school as Elijah Wood. I’m not sure it’s the scariest film I’ve ever seen (it’s hard to beat The Exorcist), but I did need the scarf!

Good date film – snuggle up to your beau and let him wrap a protective, comforting arm around you during the scary bits.

Leave a Reply

