Book review: Who Moved My Cheese?

Cover of "Who Moved My Cheese?: An Amazin...

But first of all an update.

Now that postaday2011 is finished, I have, as predicted, moved my daily blogging to my behind-the-scenes-at-work blog. I’m finding it really useful, both to record what I’ve done, and to motivate myself to do more. Once it’s written in a blog post, I have to do it! The idea is that one day when I’m rich and famous, I’ll sit in front of the fire with my feet up and remind myself of what a bloody slog it was at the time.

Fitness Bootcamp

I’m into Week 2 of Fitness Bootcamp. So far I’ve been somewhat disappointed. It’s too easy! It’s a lot of what I do all the time, both in terms of diet and exercise but the exercise is more geared towards short, high-intensity workouts than the longer bike runs I’m used to. Although having said it’s too easy, by Friday I was dragging my bones around and today is the first day I haven’t ached all over in a week.

We’re moving! We’re not😦

I’m also very, very disappointed to report more developments on the move-to-Toulouse. The good news is that it’s still going ahead. The bad news is that the head’s-of-everything have become involved, and now  it’s unlikely to happen before July. Pah! Just writing it down makes my heart sink. Well, there’s not a lot I can do about it (although I am thinking about forming an advance party and leaving without Chewy). I had my heart set on February, but too bad, I’ll just have to get used to the idea of July.

Who Moved My Cheese?

And talking about dealing with change, I read the excellent Who Moved My Cheese? over Christmas. No doubt you don’t need me to tell you about it, seeing as it was published in 1998 and is a #1 International Bestseller (according to the publisher). For anyone who, like me, has been under a rock since 1998, it’s written by Spencer Johnson and it’s very short – just 94 pages set in nice big type. Taken at face value, it’s a lovely little tale about some mice, and how they react when their supply of cheese runs out. However, the hungry mice story is a very powerful metaphor for how we can deal with change in our lives. If you haven’t read it, do. Yes, do! It’s short, it’s cheap, it’s an easy read and it might just change how you live your life forever.

One thought on “Book review: Who Moved My Cheese?

Leave a Reply

