Goodbye 2011

English: Side - a street in Newcastle with Tyn...

Newcastle upon Tyne

I’m back! To be honest I didn’t expect to be away, but on 2nd January my internet connection slowed to an unusuable trickle. Put it together with a headache  that lasted four days and last week didn’t really happen.

Yesterday Chewy and me arrived back in our little French shack from the UK, and tonight I will be celebrating the start of 2012. 2011 might have ended a week ago, but 2012 starts today.

Goodbye 2011

This latest visit to the UK felt a lot like a goodbye. There were places I could have gone, people I could have seen, things I could have done, but I didn’t. For the first time ever, I didn’t even go to watch the football. It all felt like a life that I’m not part of any more. It was nice to catch up with friends, but after a couple of hours we’d said all there was to say. When the nice man at the bank pointed out renting my flat is a business, I didn’t have the usual “no it’s not, it’s my home!” thought.

I said goodbye to my parents. I lost the ability to communicate with my mother many years ago. She’s still physically alive and mentally alert, but emotionally she’s in her own world. However, I’ve always been close to my dad. He’s the person whose always supported me in times of trouble. Not  any more. It’s clear that he’s not strong enough now. He’ll probably live for many years yet, but isn’t able to be the friend that I could lean on that he was before.

So, the end of the year coincides with a lot of other endings for me. Goodbye 2011, goodbye that part of my life. It was fun, but it’s time to move on.

Hello 2012

If all this sounds sad, it’s not. It’s almost a relief. A final clearing away of the old to make way for the new. And there is plenty of new to look forward to. Most significantly, did I mention this before? We’re moving house, and I can’t wait! It’s going to be great!!! This week I can start properly looking for somewhere to live and we’ll be visiting Toulouse at the end of the month.

Then there’s lots of other little things to look forward to. My fitness boot camp begins later today (can’t wait), my friend in Switzerland has offered us the use of her chalet to go skiing (thanks S, you’re great :-)). And the good keeps coming! I’ve just opened the mail that accumulated over the holidays to find that my speeding points have expired, my tax status has been updated (so I pay less tax) and my self-employed status has been updated (now I can join the translators association). And there’s also one more big piece of very good news that I’m keeping to myself for the time being. Tonight I’ll be drinking champanski.

Hello 2012. It’s going to be great🙂

One thought on “Goodbye 2011

Leave a Reply

