A (Christmas) Song a Day – Day 332

"Gary Speed ~ Rest In Peace"

Image by PhotographyByUrbanEyes.com via Flickr

I can’t believe the news that Gary Speed has died. There was a little moment after I read the headline when I thought, ‘oh,  someone with the same name as Gary Speed has died’. Then I thought, ‘oh look, they’ve mixed Gary Speed up with someone else who’s died. Someone will be in hot water for that!’. It’s so hard to get my head around it.

I never knew the man, I only watched him play football for Newcastle many times from the distance of the stands. He was a favourite of mine – partly because he was best-looking man on the pitch (hey, I am a girl after all), but also because he worked tirelessly for the team. Newcastle will be a sad city this morning. At times like this I feel I should go home.

Version française

J’ai peine à croire les nouvelles que ​​Gary Speed est mort. Il y avait un petit moment après que j’ai lu les grands titres quand j’ai pensé,  ‘Oh, quelqu’un qui s’appelle Gary Speed ​​est mort’. Puis j’ai pensé, ‘Oh, regarde, ils ont confondu Gary Speed avec quelqu’un d’autre qui est morte. Quelqu’un sera dans le pétrin ! ‘. C’est tellement difficile à le croire.

Je ne le connais pas personellement,  je n’ai fait que le regardais jouer au football plusieurs fois pour Newcastle de la distance de la tribune. Il était un de mes favorites – en partie parce qu’il était le plus bel homme sur le terrain (hé, n’oubliez pas que je suis une fille), mais aussi parce qu’il s’est engagé au fond à l’équipe. Newcastle sera une ville triste ce matin. Dans des moments comme ceux-ci, je pense à rentrer chez moi.

Song of the day

I was wondering how I was going to find a Christmas song appropriate for such a sad day. This, I think works. It’s a great Christmas tune, but I can never hear it without being reminded of another tragic death.

Je me demandais comment faire pour trouver une chanson de Noël appropriée pour une telle journée triste. J’espère que celle-ci fasse l’affaire. C’est un grand air de Noël, mais je ne peux jamais l’entendre sans me rappeler d’une autre mort tragique.

Leave a Reply

