A Song a Day – Day 313

Traffic Jam in BangkokUp until a couple of years ago I used be part of the 9-5 commute-to-work thing. Once a week I get a reminder of what that was like. On Tuesday evenings I go to a Pilates class in Antibes, which is about 16km away from us and on a good day takes about 20 minutes to get to. Unfortunately between me and Antibes lies the technology park known as Sophia Antipolis where 25,000 people leave work at 6pm. The class is at 7pm  which means I have to cross Sophia at the peak of the rush hour.

Last night I set off as usual at 6pm. At 7pm I’d covered 8km and was half-way to Antibes, at which point I gave up and turned back home. This is the worst I’ve ever seen it, but the journey usually takes an hour.  An hour and a half in the car for a one hour class. It doesn’t seem sensible to continue. Seven billion people on the planet. How long before the gridlock is permanent?

Signs of things to come

Today I see McDonalds is closing down in Iceland because it has become too expensive to transport the ingredients, which are imported from Germany. Yesterday I was looking at an American website that doesn’t deliver outside the USA because the postage costs are too high. Signs of things to come.

Song of the day

Ah, Bobby, life wouldn’t be the same without your little ditty. The video is hilarious – Chewy and me were doing the dance in the kitchen this morning. Try doing that without being happy 🙂

2 thoughts on “A Song a Day – Day 313

  1. I feel your pain. I am the most impatient person in the world. If I didn’t have some relaxing music in the car I think I would have gone crazy with all that traffic. And I agree, it is a great song to make you smile 🙂

    • Mmm, I was more disappointed than bothered, but there were a lot of angry and impatient people around me. That contributed to the decision to jump ship. I’m just happy I had the option to bail, everyone else was still trying to get home.

Leave a Reply

