A Song a Day – Day 304

If you’ve been here before, you’ll notice that the blog has had a bit of a makeover. Dark Vador has gone. He’s returned  to the Dark Side and the joint is now run by Seycen who was the initial writer-in-chief.

Seycen, or say(en),  allegedly finds it origins in Middle English; it generally meant ‘to say’, and literally meant “a professional reciter, one whose occupation was to read or recite both prose and poetry, and no doubt news and gossip as well”. So that’s me. Watch out for more changes in the coming weeks in preparation for next year.

I’m still deciding what to write where, and I think I am going to start a new blog for the about-the-business stuff. I’d like to be able to integrate it into this blog, but the issue is my valued subscribers who (unless you either happen to be in the translating business, or starting a new business) are unlikely to be interested in posts about CAT (computer aided translation) tools, the difficulty of setting rates and the like.

The current plan is to post work-related stuff Monday-Friday, while I’m working (I can probably even pretend it’s work). As for this blog, I’ll update the COW weekly and maybe post other stuff if I feel like it. That’ll keep me blogging on a daily basis, but in a more focussed way.

Song of the day

Kerrie left a comment the other day (thanks for your support K) so I checked out her blog (just curious, not in a creepy, stalker kind of way). It turns out that Kerrie is a music maker herself and has just produced a video for her new song. I never expected my blog to attract so many talented musicians, and this tune deserves a wider audience, so here is Kerrie Hoskins with Closer to Crazy. Good luck Kerrie!

Leave a Reply

