A Song a Day – Day 260

The Tree of Life

The Tree of Life

The other day I watched The Tree of Life, which is this year’s effort from Brad Pitt and Sean Penn among others. At the same time I did the ironing, hoovered, hung three pictures and tidied up the garage. And I swear I didn’t miss a thing!

It’s a cross between a home movie and a David Attenborough documentary, less the interesting commentary. If you’ve seen Koyaanisqatsi (1982) or Powaqqatsi (1988) you’ll get the idea. The soundtrack is largely a Gregorian chant and the last five minutes involves a constant repetition of the word ‘amen’.

Sean Penn has this to say about it:

I didn’t at all find on the screen the emotion of the script, which is the most magnificent one that I’ve ever read. A clearer and more conventional narrative would have helped the film without, in my opinion, lessening its beauty and its impact. Frankly, I’m still trying to figure out what I’m doing there and what I was supposed to add in that context! What’s more, Terry himself never managed to explain it to me clearly.

Terry is Terry Malick, the director. You might like it. Just don’t pay to see it.

Song of the day

Another of my new little series of gems I’ve been listening to. This time it’s Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong with Summertime. It’s not the version I was looking for, but it’s pretty good nonetheless.

 

One thought on “A Song a Day – Day 260

  1. Thanks for the heads up on the movie…I watched a shocker last night ….always know if I fall asleep in the first half hour it is curtains…killing bono…did not know what it was supposed to be….did you know there were over 30,000 different recorded versions of summertime?
    later x

Leave a Reply

