A Song a Day – Day 246

The animals seem to be striking back. First there was the group attacked by the polar bear with toothache in Norway. Then there was the man eaten by a shark while on honeymoon in the Seychelles. Two days ago I read about a lady whose leg was chewed off by an alligator and then yesterday there was a lady trampled to death by a herd of cows.

The cow thing happened to me when I was about thirteen. I’d taken our dog out for a walk through a field with cows in it. Initially the cows were a long way away, on the other side of the field but as we progressed they came closer and closer until eventually they encircled us. If it’s never happened to you, I can vouch for the fact that being surrounded by a herd of curious cows is scary stuff! The dog at this point was on the lead. I now know that I should have let her off the lead and the cows would have followed her, not me.

At this pivotal point fate intervened – in the shape of a rabbit. The dog spotted the bunny from afar and immediately set off at full pelt after it, dragging me along at the end of the lead and scattering cows in every direction. I’ve never run so fast in my life! The cows quickly recovered from the initial surprise and set off after us. From a distance, it must have been a hilarious sight. The bunny, followed by the dog, followed by me, followed by a herd of over-excited cows. All moving at top speed.

The high-speed chase ended at the bottom corner of the field where the rabbit disappeared into the hedge. With the cows rapidly gaining on us, I forced my way through the thorns. Getting the dog to do the same was more problematical, and several cow heads had started to poke their way through the hole before we were both safely in the adjoining field. And then the dog spotted the rabbit again…

Song of the day

I heard this while I was out last night, and it fits nicely with today’s little tale. It’s Lou Reed and Walk on the Wild Side.

 

One thought on “A Song a Day – Day 246

Leave a Reply

