A Song a Day – Day 230

Living in France as I do, I rarely get to see or hear British politicians, so I’m not sure I would have recognised David Cameron (Prime Minister for overseas readers)  or Ed Miliband (Leader of the Opposition) in the street until this week. But  following the riots they’ve been all over the news, and I’m struck by two things.

First, how much David Cameron sounds like God. If God were to come down from heaven and run the country for a day, I’m sure he’d make speeches like David Cameron’s. Cameron’s speeches sound like they’ve come from the Old Testament, and he loves to end them with a triplet – like the Laurence Binyon poem:

They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old;
Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn.

At the going down of the sun and in the morning
We will remember them.

And he always sounds like he’s reading the lesson at school assembly – there’s no conviction.

Thunderbirds are go!

As for Ed Miliband – is he really a human being? He does walk and talk, and I expect he eats and breathes, but there is something missing here too.  He seems to be simply going through the motions without really being there. I’m not so sure he is one of us. In fact, I’m pretty sure he’s a Thunderbird. Scott Tracy in particular. Look:

Scott Tracy

Ed Miliband

 

Song of the Day

I’ve had this George Michael song running through my head all morning, and now you can listen to it too. Spinning the Wheel – by George Michael.

Leave a Reply

