A Song a Day – Day 221

Fruits and vegetables, rich in vitamins, potas...

Image via Wikipedia

Some other things I really miss when I’m in France – grapes and Boots (that’s Boots the chemist, not a sturdy pair of wellies).

How long have you had a weak bladder?

You can buy grapes in France, but only in season, at the end of the summer, and they’re never very good. I imagine they’re the left-overs that can’t go into making wine. Yesterday I had a huge bunch of Spanish seedless grapes. Yum yum yum.

As for chemists, if Boots opened a branch in France there would be a huuuuuge section of the shop dedicated to the pharmacy, and an extra bit where you could buy shampoo and toothpaste. All the stuff you usually pick up by yourself off the shelves (e.g.  contact lens solutions, thrush and cystitis treatments, and notably painkillers) would all be safely tucked up behind the pharmacy counter. The medical establishment has a tight hold all things ‘medicinal’ and French government recently failed to change up things so that painkillers could be sold in supermarkets. It’s just great to fill up my basket with incontinence pads and whatever else without having to discuss all my embarrassing minor ailments with a pharmacist.

The wunda-cream

One thing I’ve been very stuck by since I’m back in the UK is the amount of advertising I see. I’m now tempted to buy things that until three days ago, I’d never heard of! I’ve succumbed to one temptation and bought myself some Elizabeth Arden 8 Hour Cream. It’s supposedly a wunda-product. After three days of testing I haven’t noticed any particular difference. It does however smell very strongly of ginger. I love ginger, but I’m not sure I want to have my face smelling of it. What were you thinking Lizzie?

Song of the Day

Today’s tune is No More I Love You’s by Annie Lennox. The theme is a little gloomy (which is why I didn’t post it yesterday), but it’s a fantastic song.

2 thoughts on “A Song a Day – Day 221

Leave a Reply

