A Song a Day – Day 218

Fish and chips, a popular take-away food of th...

Image via Wikipedia

Two things are on the agenda today. First, I fly to the UK for a three-week stay with my parents. Yippee! Break out the warm beer, fish and chips and salt ‘n vinegar crisps!  Second, while I’m there, I’m going on a diet. Nothing sensible. This isn’t going to be one of your boring ‘lose a pound a week over six months’ thingymujig. It’s going to be a proper full-on totally unsustainable crash diet where I live off carrots, raisins and fresh air for three weeks.

Last time I tried this was over twenty years ago. I was nineteen or so, and it worked beautifully, although I did spend one afternoon eating all the sweets and chocolate I could get my hands on because I was so hungry. I haven’t weighed myself for years, so I don’t know how much I weigh now, and I’m not planning to find out. I’ll track my progress by measuring the circumference of my thighs. That’s the bit I want to change. I won’t be sharing the measurements – I wouldn’t be surprised if my legs are as big as my waist and if they are, I’m not going to tell anyone about it! But I’ll keep y’all posted on progress.

On second thoughts, I’m not sure how all this fits in with the beer, fish and chips and crisps plan…

Today’s tune

The Electric Light Orchestra have been hanging around as the subject of a potential post for a while. Our paths first crossed with their Discovery album and nothing else that followed was ever so good. I’ve struggled to find a track of theirs that isn’t totally cheesy nowadays (à la Mr Blue Sky & co.) , and at last I have one. Today’s tune is Wild West Hero, by ELO.

Leave a Reply

