A Song a Day – Day 215

This morning I discovered the Journey of Life blog and I’ve spent the morning reading all three years of it (not as bad as you might think, J wasn’t participating in apostaday). A few things are a bit spooky. It was started at a time when a lot of things started to go (even more)  awry in my own life, and just a few days after my birthday. Now that I’ve discovered it, I find it came to an end a couple of months ago. But most of all, so many of his words are words I’ve written in my own journals over the past few years. It’s comforting and reassuring to see that I’m not the only one who finds life difficult at times, and it’s pushing me towards an idea I’ve toyed with for a while; to write a much more personal anonymous blog. I think I’ll have to wait til this one is finished tho’. I’m not sure I’m up to maintaining two blogs at once. Then again… I could pick up where J has left off. Dunno.

Anyway, for now, I’m just going to steal a bit of his content. Many of his posts stuck a chord, but this one particularly grabbed me:

The King’s Road Block By: Author unknown.

In ancient times, a king had a boulder placed on a roadway. Then he hid himself and watched to see if anyone would remove the huge rock. Some of the king’s wealthiest merchants and courtiers came by and simply walked around it. Many loudly blamed the king for not keeping the roads clear, but none did anything about getting the big stone out of the way. Then a peasant came along carrying a load of vegetables. On approaching the boulder, the peasant laid down his burden and tried to move the stone to the side of the road. After much pushing and straining, he finally succeeded. As the peasant picked up his load of vegetables, he noticed a purse lying in the road where the boulder had been. The purse contained many gold coins and a note from the king indicating that the gold was for the person who removed the boulder from the roadway. The peasant learned what many others never understand: Every obstacle presents an opportunity to improve one’s condition once you make the effort.

Song of the Day

I don’t wanna be a record breaker, but this is in honour of all you dedicated bloggers out there, who, if we make it to the end of the year might just be record breakers!

Leave a Reply

