A Song a Day – Day 176

It’s only been in the past few years I’ve become interested in tennis. I used to think it was really boring. And, watching Andy Murray and Ivan Ljubicic last night, I can see why. I thought the match was never going to end. They somehow reminded me of a pair of St Bernard dogs, lolloping round the court on a hot day after a heavy meal. Both relied heavily on their serve, and neither could really be bothered to run around the court and chase the ball down. Tactics were limited to playing keepy-uppy until someone made a mistake and they could try to win the next service point. By the fourth set, I had the impression they both wanted the other one to win just so that they could call it a day and get home to bed.

Compare that to the  Lisicki and Li match on Thursday. They reminded me of a pair of border collies; both of them could run forever and would never, ever give up.

Steve Miller Band

This song was in one of my early Tunes for Guitar books. The first time I heard it was when I tried to play it on my own guitar. I made quite a few attempts over the months, but it was so weird I couldn’t really make head nor tail of it. At the time I thought it was my lack of musical ability, but now I’m not so sure! There’s still something strangely appealing about it.

It is the Steve Miller Band and The Joker.

Leave a Reply

