A Song a Day – Day 168

The other day I read a fascinating story in the Independent about a 34-year-old woman who woke up one morning convinced she was 15. Here are some snippets,

Each picture sparked a question, but the one that circled my brain insistently was – what if I’m no longer in 1992 anymore? Could I really have woken up in the future?

My doctor insisted I didn’t read newspapers, watch television or force myself to remember – my memory had to return naturally. But like any petulant teen, I couldn’t help myself and curiosity to see how the world had turned out got the better of me. It was mortifying – digital television appeared almost cartoonish in comparison to analogue, and reality television, which seemed to be on every channel, was a complete enigma to me…Facebook, recycling, internet shopping… the list went on. I was dumbfounded, but learning about my personal history would prove to be even harder to swallow.

The 20 years’ worth of diaries and journals I’d kept opened a window in my personal past and revealed the landmarks on my road to adulthood…I read in awe, but my 15-year-old self could not quite digest that this was the adult I’d become. I thought I’d have conquered the world by the time I reached 34.

You can read the full story here.

Back to the future

What if, on the same day, we’d all woken up in 1992? There would be nobody to tell us that we were living in the past, rather than the future, and we would be ‘progressing’ towards a point in time that had already happened. What if we have all woken up in 2011 and think that what is happening now is new? But what if we are all living our lives backwards? We started with death, and we’re advancing towards birth, rediscovering our future along the way? Hmm.

Geordie legends – Mark Knopfler

I’m not a big fan of either Dire Straits or Mark Knopfler, but when I’m visiting my parents, I pass his parent’s house on the bus each time I go to town (or so urban legend has it). He went to the same school as my brother (and Alan Shearer) and I admire his work. I also like what he has to say about himself,

“I just keep turning up, that’s exactly what it is, and I think you appreciate it a lot more as you get older. I used to take it for granted when I was a kid. I don’t think I respected whatever talent I had enough – I had to learn that. So now I just get behind the plough. That’s how things happen.”

It’s hard to know which song to pick, and I’ve (almost) randomly gone for Sailing to Philadelphia …I am Jeremiah Dixon, I am a Geordie boy…

Leave a Reply

