A Song a Day – Day 167

Today I woke up to one of those spooky synchronous events that makes you wonder if there isn’t someone in charge of it all after all. Yesterday I signed up to the WordPress ‘Daily Post‘ blog. It gives you a topic idea for each day – useful for us daily posters. The first delivery arrived in my inbox this morning, and the topic is  ‘Why is it so hard to forgive?’. Now that was a bit of a shock as forgiveness was very much on my mind yesterday.

Forgiveness

When I was a teenager, my dad once completely lost his temper and pretty much attacked me. I still don’t know what I did to cause such a violent reaction, and it only happened once (it’s not like I had a terrible childhood), but recently I’ve been thinking about it a lot. I think it left me with a subtle, but long-lasting mistrust of people and the belief that I have to be careful around them as they can be unpredictable and dangerous. Add in to the mix a fear that I am able provoke people to such extreme behaviour. These are not particularly helpful or positive beliefs, and I spent a good part of yesterday trying to find a way to come to terms with what had happened. After a lot of soul searching, I eventually found the answer. Forgiveness. At the time, my dad apologised to me, and it was clear that he deeply regretted what he’d done. I remember I swore to myself to hate him forever. Thirty years on, it’s time to forgive him.

Lunar Eclipse June 2011

Lunar Eclipse June 2011

The other event of yesterday was the total eclipse of the moon  (I was very disappointed I didn’t get to see it, it was too low in the sky, and blocked by the hill behind us).

According to one of my many and various favourite  astrology websites, the eclipse, “increases the likelihood of dramatic changes during the next two weeks. It signals a need to let go of the past, especially of old beliefs and expectations”.

Well, it seems to have worked for me.

The dark side of the moon?

I’m very tempted to play something Pink Floydish in honour of the moon’s eclipse, but I still have Advertising Space in my head from yesterday. So I’m going to stick with the original plan which is a third Robbie tune. Come Undone is a fairly close runner-up to Advertising Space in my top of the pops. Enjoy🙂

3 thoughts on “A Song a Day – Day 167

  1. more astrology..love it….i am a bit of a nut too. more interested in’ what people are’ …rising sign, moon venus etc….interesting about the eclipse…life suddenly pulled a blinder on me on wednesday night so i spent most of yesterday in hurt contemplation…..

Leave a Reply

