A Song a Day – Day 158

Maybe one day I'll get to the moon?

Gitika wrote the other day about the achievement of reaching 148 posts, and I agree with her, it’s been quite a commitment. I was asking myself the other day what else I have done so consistently, what else I’ve been so committed to this year. Apart from brushing my teeth in the morning, I’m not sure there is anything else. Even breakfast doesn’t always happen. Which led me to wonder what I could achieve if I did commit myself to doing something consistently, every day, for a year. I don’t have an answer yet, but I’m still thinking about it.

And then I read this story on the BBC website about Shahnaz Husain. Shahnaz has built up her Ayurvedic products business into a worldwide brand, from a standing start. What she said about women and business really struck a chord with me:

“What women really lack in the ultimate analysis is not the desire to do something, but the resilience to keep up that grit and determination.”

I don’t really know why I started this blog. I have a vague memory that I wanted to do something that was just for me. Simply for my own interest. I kind of wanted to  see what I would write, to see what would happen. In fact it’s showing me what it really means to be committed to something, and it’s a lesson I would like to extend to other parts of my life.

On to today’s tune. We’ve had a banjo, we’ve had a guitar, today it’s the ukulele’s turn. I’ve never heard of him, but apparently Jake Shimabukuro is a ukulele legend, and this is pretty good. While My Guitar Gently Weeps by Jake Shimabukuro.

3 thoughts on “A Song a Day – Day 158

Leave a Reply

