A Song a Day – Day 145

Day four of holidays. Ah man. What a day. What a day!

Cascade d'ArsToday didn’t with yoga. It began with a drive to Aulus-les-Bains. I guess you could call it a spa town, in the foothills of the Pyrenees. The idea was to walk up to, and around, the Cascade d’Ars, a 340 metre-high waterfall. It was fantastic. After a long slog up a shady valley you turn a corner, reach the crest of a slope, and this (left) opens up in front of you. Magnifique !

Then I hiked up to the top of the waterfall. Three-quarters of the way up, my mobile phone sprang back into life (I hadn’t been able to get a signal since I’d arrived), and I got a text message from Mr DV who I had just been thinking about (he would have loved it there). Once you’re at the top, you’ve got to come back down again, and I came back the long way. Through shady beech forests and past a mysterious tarn. It was proper Lord of the Rings stuff. If Frodo had popped out from behind a bush I wouldn’t have been totally surprised.  All in all, it was a wonderous journey. And I still made it back in time for yoga!

Today tune is a tribute to the Pyrenees and all who live in them. I’ve never heard it before, but it seems appropriate. It is the Montagnes Pyrénées by Les Chanteurs Pyrénéens de Tarbes.

One thought on “A Song a Day – Day 145

Leave a Reply

