A Song a Day – Day 143

Day two of holidays. The day began and ended with yoga. It’s an easy class. In between, the sun shone and I went for a walk. The walk took me along the Chemin de St-Jacques, also known as the Way of St. James, which is the pilgrims route to the Cathedral of Santiago de Compostela in Galicia in northwestern Spain, where tradition has it that the remains of the apostle Saint James are buried. I found that fact that I was walking it a bit odd. I’d never heard of it until a few weeks ago, when two people, totally independently, told me they were walking part of it. Next thing I know I’m doing it myself!

It was fabulous. Absolutely beautiful. The sun was out and the snow-covered peaks of the Pyrenees were visible in the distance. I was already dazed by the of beauty of it all when a black cat appeared walking towards me. Then I  came across the hippies who’d colonised an abandoned farmhouse. Then finally, to add the finishing surreal touch to it all, the sound of music wafted up from the valley below me. At first I thought it was someone’s radio. But no. It turned out to be a man playing the accordion. Just like that, by the side of the path. As you do in rural France. And he was good. I have no idea what he was playing, but he made me cry. What a day!

Imagine this girl with her accordion, but beside a path in the middle of the forest, on a sunny summer’s day, and you’ll get the idea. Wonderful.

Leave a Reply

