A Song a Day – Day 134

Breakfast at TiffanysToday’s tune is Moon River from the film Breakfast at Tiffany’s (1961) sung by Audrey Hepburn. Watching this again, I still think the film would have been better with someone else playing Holly Golightly. Hepburn reminds me a lot of Nicole Kidman – they have the same lack of ability to lose themselves in the character they’re playing. Yes, I do mean wooden. Compare the performances of Nicole Kidman and Renée Zellweger in Cold Mountain (2003) if you have any doubt.

This song has a very particular memory for me. I was working in a bar one night in Newcastle. I was on my own and, as usual there wasn’t enough staff. Which was all bad enough until one of the customers climbed up onto the counter and grabbed me. I think it was boyish over-enthusiasm rather than an outright attack, but I was Not Very Happy. I escaped into my head, and reminded myself of why I was doing this – to finance a trip around Europe. I had a vivid picture of myself sitting on the deck of a yacht gazing at the full moon reflected over the water.

A few months later and I was there. On that yacht, watching that moon. And I had this song going through my head. Was it worth it? Oh yes🙂

Leave a Reply

