A Song a Day – Day 74

OK, as promised, here’s part two of my favourite films post. I don’t feel so bad now about doing it in two parts, seeing as my challenger, DJBaroque is having even more trouble than me🙂

Elaine’s Top Ten Favourite Films (Part Two)

6. The Jungle Book (1967)

Many strange legends are told of these jungles of India, but none so strange as the story of a small boy named Mowgli. It all began when the silence of the jungle was broken by an unfamiliar sound.

The Jungle BookSo begins Bagheera’s story of the man-cub, abandoned in the jungle. If you haven’t seen it, shame on you.

First see my Day 57 post, then go and buy the DVD. Don’t rent it because you’ll need it close at hand when you’re in need  of a bit of a cheering up. Oooh dooby doo, I wanna be like yooo hooo hoo…

7. Madagascar (2005)
MadagascarAnother cartoon (although I believe the correct term these days is ‘animated feature’). To be honest, if it wasn’t for King Julien XIII (Sacha Baron Cohen) I’m not sure this would make the top ten. But his move it move it makes the movie.

See Day 56 if you don’t know what I’m talking about.

8. Bad Santa (2003)
Bad SantaI imagine that come Christmas the rest of the world pulls out their well-worn copy of It’s a Wonderful LifeMarch of the Penguins, some version of A Christmas Carol, or even The Wizard of Oz. Me, I reach for Bad Santa. Billy Bob Thornton steals the show in this hilarious and totally un-politically correct story of yer good ole’ Santa, just trying to scratch a living. Definitely do not let the kids watch this. They’ll be scarred for life.

9. The Silence of the Lambs (1991)
Silence of the LambsI still vividly remember the first time I saw this. It was at the Price Charles cinema, just off Leicester Square. On the evening in question, I was on my own, and I’d cycled there from work. Which meant I had to cycle back home. I can still feel the fear that ran down my back as I emerged alone from the cinema into a dark London street. I couldn’t get on my bike quick enough, and I think the bike ride home took about half the usual time. I was absolutely terrified. Now that’s some film.

BTW I was really happy to see during my recent visit to London that the PC lives on. Especially since the Scala, which was another favourite haunt didn’t make it.

10. The Maltese Falcon (1941)
The Maltese Falcon - the worst film in historyThis one makes the list because, like The Silence of the Lambs, it arouses strong emotion in me. However, for all wrong reasons. This is, quite likely, the worst film you will ever see. I include it as a warning to all would-be cinephiles. It features regularly in best-film-of-all-time lists for reasons which escape me. As far as I can tell, this is simply because you have no credibility in the film-reviewing world unless you have seen, and/or can rave about, at least one old and/or black-and-white film. In this case, the dialogue is so fast it is totally incomprehensible, and the plot only makes sense if you’ve read a synopsis.  The Maltese Falcon is truly awful, and it should just be allowed to die. If you must impress your friends with your film knowledge, watch 12 Angry Men instead.

So, that’s it for films for now. I have some other favourites that didn’t make this list, but would go nicely into a ‘top ten films that nobody but me has seen, but which are really excellent’ list. A project for another day.

Today’s tune

And last, but not least, today’s tune. What else could it be, but Hannibal’s favourite music… the Goldberg Variations of Johann Sebastian Bach. Pour yourself a glass of Chianti and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

