A Song a Day – Day 72

I’m puzzled how it’s taken me so long to get round to this one. There’s a long story that goes with it, but I’ll have to save it for another day. The short story is that we went skiing the other day, and they were playing it while we had our après-ski café.

Totally different topic, but in the past few days I’ve had four near-accidents as a car passenger. Two of them were within half an hour of each other, on the way back from skiing. In both cases we went into a bend to find the oncoming vehicle was on the same side of the road as ourselves, and going much faster. Very very scary. But it led to a discussion of what would encourage drivers to pay more attention to the white line down the middle of the road. A kerb could work well, as could a ditch, or a kind of electrification like the one that keeps cows in fields. However, the ideal solution seemed to be nails. I like that.

Back to the music, which today is Dexys Midnight Runners and Come on Eileen. BTW the long story is about getting stranded in the Amazonian rain forest. Stay tuned!

2 thoughts on “A Song a Day – Day 72

  1. I saw this man in Spitalfields in the City just about 2 months ago just looking a bit too silly…had black and white brogues and turn ups on his tweed flairs and a perky peaked cap..
    I was having a day at tutting at all the first class poseurs and as I got closer I realised it was him! Kevin! Did not stop me tutting….ha ha!

  2. I remember when I was DJing in Second Life under the samename. I’d often play this song (especially during 80’s nights) and there was always one guy who hated this song, and refused to stay in the club whilst it was on haha. It’s one of those songs that you can’t help but to sing along with, it’s just got THAT quality.

Leave a Reply

