A Song a Day – Day 64

 

Bebook Club

The Bebook Club

I mentioned the other day that I’d bought an eReader. It’s a BeBook from Endless Ideas. It’s not the best known of eReaders. I put a fair bit of effort into deciding which brand to go for and for me, this came out top. Technically, I’d say there’s not that much to choose between the different models. At least, it doesn’t really matter to me if I can store 10,000 or 12,000 books on the device. If I can store the one I’m reading, that’ll be enough.

 

What swung it for me was the fact the Endless Ideas are a European (Dutch) company, and their commitment to open-source technology. With the BeBook you’re not tied in to any particular bookstore. I hadn’t realised the full horror of the implications of this until I started running iTunes. While the integration with the iStore is extremely convenient and very impressive, there is something oppressive about being so closely tied to one shop.

First impressions are pretty good. My litmus test is that if I have to read the user manual, then the designers have got something wrong. It should be possible to simply pick up it up and use, and it is. However, I can’t help feeling that the current generation of eReaders are the technological equivalent of black-and-white televisions. They should go faster, they should have more functionality and they should be in full colour.

Anyway, moving on to today’s pick. I suspect it’ll show up in a few other lists.  A good tune. It’s Snow Patrol with Chasing Cars.

2 thoughts on “A Song a Day – Day 64

  1. I have to admit, Snow Patrol wrote some damn fine songs. This being one of them. I should look into picking up that greatest hits CD of theirs. I think though if I had to pick one song, it would be ‘run’ instead of Chasing Cars. All I Have was pretty awesome also.

Leave a Reply

