A Song a Day – Day 61

Well, now it’s 2nd March. It’s still cold, it’s still raining, but hey, what do you expect in the south of France?

SOEHNLE Digital Kitchen ScalesDespite having a degree in Computer Science and working in I.T.  for the past ten years, I am a hardware luddite. Until the past few days, the most sophisticated piece of digital equipment I owned was my kitchen scales (made by SOEHNLE, highly recommend them). I’ve heard of a Blackberry and the iPhone, but I’m not really sure what they do. I do have a mobile phone, but it only makes phone calls and sends text messages. I saw an iPad in Dixons last year. It looked a lot like my kitchen scales. I wonder if it can weigh flour?

However, having recently inherited my mother-in-law’s iPod and bought myself an eReader, I now consider myself to be at the cutting edge of technology. I’ll talk about the eReader later, but first the iPod. Now I have one to actually play with, I’m bamboozled by the fuss that has been made over it. How is it different to a USB key you can plug headphones into? And it’s not even that useful. While you can copy stuff onto it (only using iTunes mind you), you can’t get anything off.  So you can’t use it to shift stuff between machines. Plus, if it is a music player, and not a storage-device-with-headphones, where is the replay button? I eventually found the replay option in amongst the menus, but flippin’ ‘eck guvnor, even the humble Walkman had a replay button!

On the other hand, I don’t have too much to complain about with iTunes. It did a pretty good job of finding and sorting my music. Subscribing to podcasts works like a dream. I wanted to create playlists for the music I’ve been writing about here, and that has been no trouble at all. Synching to the iPod is easy, so long as you’re happy to wipe out whatever might already be there.

Which brings us to the iTunes store. This has to Apple’s masterstroke. What other shop have you ever visited where you have to provide your bank card details before you’re allowed in through the door? In fact, before you’re even allowed to look through the window? Such is the iTunes store. It is a stroke of genius because once you’ve overcome the who-do-they-think-they-are-I-don’t-even-know-if-I-want-to-buy-anything, and given them the magic numbers, they’ve made it a piece of cake to spend money. In fact, you hardly even notice you’re doing it. It makes Amazon’s one-click ordering look like a walk to the Post Office.

Anyway. Enough free publicity for Apple. Moving on.

I came across today’s tune while looking for something else. I’ll make a bold suggestion. This is, in fact, Everybody’s favourite song. How can you not like it? And even if you don’t like it, you can never admit it. It would be like saying you think the poor should all be shipped  to an island off Scotland. It’s Bob Marley’s Redemption Song. He died in May 1981. It will be the 30th anniversary of his death this year. It passed quick.

One thought on “A Song a Day – Day 61

Leave a Reply

