A Song a Day – Day 47

Another London memory today.

In 1990 I went to the very first Fleadh at Finsbury Park. As I remember, it included the first Madness reunion gig – although it was a long time ago now, and that might have been the following year. Anyway, they were superb.  I also remember a very disappointing performance by Van Morrison.

There must have been a few other bands in the line-up, but the only other one that has stuck in my head is Suzanne Vega. At some point during the day, I found myself in a tent where Suzanne Vega was sitting with a guitar and a mike. After finishing off another tune, she started playing Luka, to an audience of… well, me. There were tens of thousands of people at the event, but I was the only one in that tent. A personal performance of a very famous song by a very famous lady, and a wonderful and surreal moment.

Leave a Reply

