A Song a Day – Day 43

 

Norway

God bless Norway and all who live there!

The nightmare work week is finally over. Four days’ work fitted into three.  It was largely self-inflicted, my own stupid fault. See Day 39 (should it ever appear) to find out why.

My life for the past several days has revolved around Norwegian wind farms. Which is, in fact, very appropriate for today’s tune.

Ever since the Pinky and Perky post, I’ve been trying to remember the first piece of music I ever heard. When I was at primary school, our days started with assembly. At the end, all the kids used to have to file out in turn, starting with the youngest class. During the operation a teacher either played something on the piano, or put a classical record on (nice and loud). This particular piece was a regular.

Now, think about it. When you’re little, and in the bottom class, the chances of hearing the whole piece, through to the end, are slim. As you get older, you have to wait longer for your turn to leave, and you get to hear a bit more. It’s only when you get to the top class that you might hear the whole thing. I was dying to hear the end, but it took me five long years to get there. It was worth it. When you’re nine, the end is pretty spectacular. In fact it still is now.

What does all this have to do with Norwegian wind farms? Hold that thought and read on…

In honour of my first music memory, Norwegian wind farms, and the wonderful people of Norway in general, here is the Norwegian legend, Edvard Grieg, and his In the Hall of the Mountain King.

P.S. does anyone else think Ed looks astonishingly like Albert Einstein?

3 thoughts on “A Song a Day – Day 43

  1. This is one of the first pieces of music I can really recall playing a lot. From a very young age I grew up around classical music (amongst others) – My nan played classical music exclusively so from my youth classical music was embedded into my subconscious. As a child I remember liking this piece because of how fast it got, now I can appreciate how this song builds and builds and the imagery it paints. This song still brings back so many memories. Wonderful posting.

Leave a Reply

