A Song a Day – Day 39

French alpsIntroducing the Hardline According to Terence Trent D’Arby was a favourite album of mine for a while. It was when I had one of the new-fangled Sony Walkmans, and around the time when I used to go skiing in France with a group of university friends. Terry and the Walkman came with me of course, and a particular memory has stuck in my head.

It was a beautiful sunny day, and I was having a particularly good time, bounding down the slope, half-skiing, and half-dancing to the music. I was so wrapped up in it, I failed to take adequate account of the middle-aged French lady teetering along in front of me. I didn’t knock her over. I didn’t even touch her, but I gave her a big fright, and I can still remember her insults following me down the slope.

All this, because we went skiing today, when I should have been working. With the powers of foresight that WordPress gives me, I predict that by the weekend, when I have had to cram four days work into three, I will regret this decision🙂

Anyway, in honour of bunking off on a schoolday to go skiing, here is Terence Trent d’Arby, and Wishing Well.

P.S. Fascinating fact. Did you know TTd’A has changed his name to the somewhat less catchy Sananda Maitreya and is still making music in Italy.

One thought on “A Song a Day – Day 39

Leave a Reply

