A Song a Day – Day 36

Remember my problem with knowing which day of the year it is now that January has ended? Well. The Universe was apparently listening. Without me saying anything, Mr DV has turned up with a calendar, which amongst other things, tells you the number of each day of the year. So I can tell you that today, 5th February is day 36. I can also tell you, just like that, that 20th May is day 140 and 12th July is day 193. Problem solved. Go on, test me!

Today we go back to my roots. If you don’t already know, I’m originally from the north-east of England. A remote land with a small population which has given birth to a disproportionate number of very successful bands. First among equals: The Police. Their music was the backdrop to my teenage years, but only one of their tunes ever made much impression on me – Roxanne. This song is very much mixed up with memories of my first love, Michael Hebden who, so he said, was taught geography by a certain Gordon Sumner.

We’re not in touch any more, but it looks like Mike has done well for himself. He was always into photography and now he’s made it his job. Good for him! I’ll give him a little plug: Mike Hebden, photographer to the stars. And for the rest of you, here is Roxanne, by The Police.

3 thoughts on “A Song a Day – Day 36

  1. I have a dear friend called Roxane ( one N) and when people meet her for the first time and they are not very bright they screaam the first ‘ROXANE’ at her from this song….mmm she says no-one has done that before,,she is on a mission to exterminate Mr Sumner
    co-incidence again as I am learning ‘message in a bottle’ to perform tomorrow…The Police grow on me over the years
    x

  2. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

Leave a Reply

