A Song a Day – Day 33

Remember I said yesterday that there will be very little classical music in this collection? I lied. Here’s another one. Now I don’t much like opera. I tried. I tried hard. When I lived in London I used to regularly buy a cheap seat to see the English National Opera at the London Coliseum. But nothing ever grabbed me. I never felt anything more than bored. I had to stop going in the end because I kept falling asleep.

So why this? It’s Mozart’s Sull’aria…che soave zeffiretto from The Marriage of Figaro, by the way. Well the other day, we sat down and watched The Shawshank Redemption – again. Which, you may remember, features this duet. Ten points if you can remember what Andy says when he’s asked to explain why he did what he did…

The answer’s after the break.

Still here? The answer is “That’s the beauty of music. They can’t get that from you…

Haven’t you ever felt that way about music?

One thought on “A Song a Day – Day 33

  1. Yes, I have felt that way. There are several pieces of music for instance that can send shivers down my spine (Far Beyond The Sun by Yngwie Malmsteen) every single time at the same moment. Some songs I can just close my eyes and be transported away into a dream world (The Garden by Unitopia) or some songs I just visualise a dazziling away of space vistas, galaxy auras and abstract patterns (Metallic Spheres by The Orb ft. David Gilmour)

    I’m a big fan of classical music though. One of my non-commenting readers, and wonderful RL friend said that Morning went down very well at work! I was fortunate enough to attend my 4th Classical Spectacular concert (and 1st with Milky, who laughed, clapped, cheered, applauded and was even moved to tears during Land Of Hope and Glory) – If you ever see it touring near you (I think it’s more of a winter thing) – go and see it. The production is amazing. This year we had the 1812 Overture (my all-time favourite piece of music) but with live cannon fire from muskets, cannons… and some huge pyrotechnic fires on the stage. I was in the 5th row and the noise was incredible. Half the people around jumped out of their skin. I’ve seen them perform the 1812 before and I knew what cues were going to be where, and just the sheer volume and loudness of it. Milky had her fingers in her ears.

    I’ve been conflicted about posting classical. Several times I’ve come close, but people seem to like the lyrical stuff more, so I’m thinking of saving the classical for a top 10 style post (you heard it hear first)

    Long comment, sorry — but great post!

Leave a Reply

