A Song a Day – Day 32

Now it gets tricky. Real tricky. While we were in January it was easy to know which day it was. Now we’ve reached February, I’m going to have to work out what the number of the day is. I can see there’s going to be a lot of day 40s. And I’ll probably be missing 44-47. Oh well.

Philip Glass

Philip Glass

I found this one in about 2003. At the time I used to listen to ClassicFM at night in bed, and they played this from time to time. It took months to find out who and what it was. Either I could never catch the composer, or their presenters were a bit lax (not sure which). It’s one of the few classical pieces I’ll include in the collection.

The composer is Philip Glass. His repertoire is both broad and deep. Every so often I’ll be watching a film, and think ‘that sounds like Philip Glass’. It probably is. In addition to more standard fare, he’s won Academy Awards for his film soundtracks. I’m sure I’ve heard the following in a film but I can’t think where (feel free to help me out here!).

Anyway, I’ll stop rambling on, and put you out of your misery. The choice for today is the second movement of the Violin Concerto, by Philip Glass.

4 thoughts on “A Song a Day – Day 32

  1. This is getting weird. I almost posted a Philip Glass piece today. One of his movie soundtracks. If you haven’t already, go forth and seek out a copy of the mindbending, inspiring and awe-inspiring documentary tour-de-force that is Koyaanisqatsi. It’s a poetic documentary beautifully shot set to a mesmerising soundtrack from good ol P-Glass. This film changed my life, and definitely my outlook on film.

Leave a Reply

