A Song a Day – Day 27

A second French offering today. It’s kind of Bob Dylan-ish, very sweet. The singer is Kaolin, and the song Partons Vite.

I was introduced to it a few years ago by a French teacher when I was still trying to learn the lingo. I remember he asked if I liked it. As I recall, my response was at the time was “ça m’est égal”,  i.e. I neither like it nor don’t. I could see he was disappointed. Now I know why. I’ve heard many times over the past few years and it rapidly grew on me. It’s a lovely tune and, in the tradition of French songwriting, the lyrics deserve as much attention as the melody.

Kaolin with the 2006 tune Partons Vite.

Leave a Reply

