A Song a Day – Day 21

I’m a big fan of Prince, when he was still known as Prince. He’s one of the few performers I’ve seen live (Bruce Springsteen and Big Country are other only two that immediately come to mind). It was at Earl’s Court in London. I can’t remember what year, but he was still called Prince at the time. Unlike Springsteen, it was a bit of a disappointment. He was a very small figure on a very distant stage. We all had to sit down all the way through, and he only played new material that none of us were familiar with.

Anyway, I don’t hold it against him.

There is so much good stuff of his to choose from, but this is probably my favourite; the fantabuloso Purple Rain.

One thought on “A Song a Day – Day 21

  1. Sounds you caught him during the ‘slave-on-the-cheek’ era. I wanted to go to the 02 shows, but wasn’t so fortunate. I gotta love Prince also. Belting out this solo on my guitar is great fun. The film wasn’t that bad either. Not spectacular, but OK for a bit of shut-off time. The first 10 mins for let’s go crazy is awesome though.

    Great post, and great choice!

Leave a Reply

