French Yoga (Week Three)

Last night was yoga night. And, as in previous weeks, there was as much opportunity to practise my French as there was to do yoga. It’s getting better. The omoplates came up again, and this time I was on the case.

La Pluie des Pieds

La Pluie des Pieds

La Pluie des Pieds

However la pluie des pieds had me lost. I loved the image, the rain of the feet. Last week we were pretending to be trees, so it didn’t seem out of the question that there would be rain around my feet.

It took a couple more repetitions to realise that I could see clearly now the rain had gone (gerrit!) and that la pluie des pieds was in fact l’appui des pieds, which I loosely translate as the support of your feet on the floor.

Tégau

The other one I tried to look up when I got home was tégau. Again it was something to do with feet. Our pieds had to be tégaux.  This one I couldn’t find anywhere. Not even in the big dictionary.

In fact there’s only one French word that begins with tég, and it’s tégument – an integument, which I also had to look up, and means:

In botany, an integument refers to an outer membrane of an ovule, which later develops into a seed coat.
Source: Wikipedia

Pieds égaux

Pieds égaux

This morning, I was able to consult the even bigger dictionary, my French partner. He looked puzzled. How was I spelling it? T-é-g… Aha! Was I not missing the liaison between the previous ‘t‘ and ‘égaux‘ (égal being equal of course). Les pieds sont égaux, perhaps?

Duh! That would be it. The feet had to be the same width apart as the hips. I knew that. I did, I did!