French Yoga

May the Force Be With YouOne of the things I’ve really missed since living in France is yoga. I used to go regularly and it was something to look forward to. Last year I found a class, but it didn’t really suit me. It was too far away; there was too much focus on breathing, and not enough poses. Now I’ve found myself a class almost just across the road. It’s very small. There’s only space for ten or so people, and it’s friendly (although they might just not have worked out that I’m English yet).

Yoga in French poses some new challenges for the non-native speaker. It’s not too bad while you’re in a position to watch everyone else and follow. But that’s not always possible. It’s best to brush up on your body parts before  heading out. I didn’t do too badly. However, the first week I was foxed by le canicule (the heatwave, except it should be feminine) and le bas sein (the lower breast?) It wasn’t until I got home that I discovered these were in fact le clavicule (the clavicle) and le bassin (the pelvis).

Ooh la la. A lovely pair of omoplates.

A lovely pair of omoplates

Last week it was l’homoplat (a flat, gay guy?) There are two of them, droit et gauche. I understood these to be  located somewhere between le dos (back) and le cou (neck). Beyond that, I was lost. It’s only now I know we were being instructed to move  une omoplate, the shoulder blade. The same session left me adrift when we were told to move les cous. Le cou is the neck, but two of them?  A sneaky glance around the room revealed the answer. Everyone else was moving their coudes (elbows).

It’s all very entertaining. The instructor regularly reminds us to practice with un petit sourire. I do, but I suspect she’s a bit baffled by my random fits of giggles as another penny drops.