The Meaning of Spider Solitaire

Spider SolitaireI’ve recently developed a disturbing addiction. Unlike my alcohol addiction, this is  harmless, but it consumes a lot of time. It’s Spider Solitaire. If you have a Microsoft Windows system, you’ll find it under the  ‘Games’ menu. But unless you have a lot of free time, I don’t recommend it.

The first two levels are pretty easy, and not that interesting. But the ‘difficult’ level is indeed difficult. I’ve played 465 games,  won fourteen, which in percentage terms is three percent. Not great. But I can’t stop. Yesterday I won two games in one day.  You can imagine my incredulity and exaltation. At the same time, I realised something important.

To win at Spider Solitaire you have to make dozens and dozens of tiny, seemingly useless moves. You must take every chance you get to line your cards up, put them in the right order. Over and over again. Hundreds of them. Individually, they seem useless, but after a while, it all starts to come together, and then, all of a sudden, you see you can line up a whole suit. And then another, and then, before you know it, bingo! You are a winner!

This is what my life is like at the moment. I’m making dozens, if not hundreds of seemingly tiny, seemingly useless moves. Lining things up, getting things in order. With no apparent results. Until, if the lesson of Spider Solitaire applies, one day, all the cards will be in row, the suits will be all lined up, and bingo! Things will fall into place, and I’ll be a winner in the real game of life. We’ll see.